TMP-Marian School Advisory Council Elects New Officers

When the School Advisory Council (SAC) and the Finance Advisory Councils (FAC) were established in 2014, the guidelines stated that members would serve three-year terms with new officers elected annually. For the first time a new chair will lead the SAC. Dr. William (BillStark, the representative from St. Anthony’s in Schoenchen, was elected chair at the June meeting.
Outgoing chair, Allen Schmidt of St. Joseph’s Parish had led the council since its inception. He will stay on the council as a voting member and vice-chair.
Wendy Richmeier, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, was elected secretary for the coming year, replacing Lisa Karlin who leaves the council after serving her 3-year term. Karlin, a representative from St. Nicholas of Myra Parish, must be replaced by another parishioner from St. Nicholas. Any interested parishioner should contact Msgr. Barry Brinkman at 785-628-2468.
The SAC is responsible for developing a long range plan for the school, reviewing the school handbook annually, assisting the FAC with preparation of the annual budget, and evaluating the principal’s working relationship and service to the school.
In addition to Dr. Stark, Mr. Schmidt, and Mrs. Richmeier, the council’s membership for 2017-18 includes Gerald Pfeifer, IHM, Bobbi Pfeifer, IHM, Tim Zimmerman, St. Nicholas, Tim Flax, St. Joseph’s, and Bill Klaus, IHM.
The FAC will elect its officers at the June 29 meeting.